Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Building relationships - orders and payments via customerID

Status
Not open for further replies.

exposbabe

Technical User
Nov 28, 2006
CA
Filemaker newbie here.
I've got the basics down, but here's what I need to do, and I'm afraid I just don't quite grab the hang of the relationships issue (which is clearly key).

Any conceptual help will be appreciated.

The business has a list of customers.
The customers made orders (for which an invoice is printed, etc).
The customers make payments.

Mostly it's a one-on-one relationship, although there are exceptions.

I currently have the customers and their orders in the same table in my working design, which was probably a mistake, but I can fix that later.

What I want to do is configure a table in which I can enter payments: customer #, payment date, cheque #, and amount.

What I would like to have is a portal on each customer's file that will have the orders, the payments, and a balance owing. Each entry, once done in the payment, would appear in that portal automatically. I'd like to have both types of transactions in the portal even though the order billing is currently already part of the customer table.

What do I do? How do I create this?

I'm currently experimenting with various scenarios, trying to learn this by doing. But that's clearly not the most effective route.

Thanks for being lifesavers.

You can have all your tables in one FILE. No problem.

In this file you need at least your 3 tables.
Customer
Order
Payment

Your customer table will hold all the info related to customers.
The Order table will hold all the details of orders, regardless which customer is placing the order.