Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

broken quark 5 file - any tips on repairing?

Status
Not open for further replies.

amwellgirl

Technical User
Jul 29, 2004
GB
I have a quark 5 file (master page images, images, multi-point text and pic boxes and heavily formatted text) that crashes - error type 2 - after it has thrown up the pop up box "This file needs minor repairs" and I click on (the only option) "repair it"

It doesn't open at all in Quark 6, just gives the message 'Bad file format' - the file behaves just the same saved into 4 and opened in 4, and 4 crashes when I try to save into 3. It still doesn't behave once all the fonts are replaced by Chicago, all the pictures re-imported and then greeked, it's pretty broken.

My last good idea was that the the document colours were somehow scrambled because it crashes Quark the minute I look at anything on a page, even if there's not obviously either a picture or any text in the first mm, just a patch of colour, and indeed opening the colours palette does crash Quark instantly. But then, so did replacing the fonts using Usage - I had to replace them one by one when the document opened.

I would be very grateful to hear of anyone who has come back from such an abyss as I am looking at starting my 2 weeks work from scratch.

thanks
Suzanne

From what you are saying...you can open the file in 5?

If so...first of all open 5 without any documents open....

Take the document layout pallette and stretch it open to fill the whole of your monitor....(all viewable areas must be covered).