Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Booting Linux to Command line in Fedora Core 1 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dimonet

IS-IT--Management
Oct 17, 2001
US
I am fairly new to Linux and poking my way around configuring files etc. I have been very sucessful so far in writing basic scripts and navigation at the shell prompt. I recently installed Fedora Core 1 and it has been running very nice. I installed the GUI (KDE) while I was learning, which always loads at startup. I would now like the GUI not to load on boot. Rather I would like the server to always boot to the shell login and invoke the GUI only when I need it as a shortcut. As I pick more and more things up I find working in the shell much more efficient and rewarding. My question is this:

1) What file do I need to edit to prevent the GUI from launching on boot and what is the sytax I would need to add or remove from the file to make that happen.

2) Where and how do I specify the default shell for each user login

2) Should I wish to invoke the GUI down the line I would simply type startkde from the shell prompt? Or is there something else I would need to do in combinatiom with that.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Many thanks,
DImo

Here commes some answers

1) You just need to boot in level 3 (level 5 is the same with only the graphical interface started)

To do that, edit /etc/inittab and change the folowing line on the top of the file:

id:5:initdefault: change "5" by "3"

2) To specify a login shell for each user, you have to modify /etc/passwd, the last parameter on each user line is the login shell

3) to start The window manager from a command line, type startx or /usr/X11R6/bin/startx

Good luck