Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Birthday list- date formula problems 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

pjomara

Technical User
Oct 2, 2001
US
I work in a school and I'm trying to create a monthly student birthday report. I want the report be grouped by month. The database I am using records date of birth in one field (MM/DD/YY). The formula I am using is "If {demogrph.dm_dob}[1 to 2] = "01" then "January", "If {demogrph.dm_dob}[1 to 2] = "02" then "February", etc.. The formula editor returns that "A string or an array of values is required here" before the field name. I am a relatively new Crystal user. Any help is appreciated.

If your field is a date field. Place the field on your report and do a mouse over on the field. The type of field will show up on the "tool tip" that comes up.

E.g: {demogrph.dm_dob}(date).

If it is a date field, create this formula to get the months' names.

MonthName(month({demogrph.dm_dob})) Mike

Before: After
[morning] [bugeyed]

Or if you have a version that does not support the MonthName function you can use:
totext({demogrph.dm_dob},"MMMM" ) //full month name "MMM" for abberviated month name

Mike

Before: After
[morning] [bugeyed]

The problem with both the above techniques is that the months will print alphabetically.

If it is a date field, create a formula for their birthday next year with.
Date(2003,month({demogrph.dm_dob},day({demogrph.dm_dob}))

And then group/Monthly on this formula. Editor and Publisher of Crystal Clear

It sounds like you have a date field.

You don't need to do anything fancy here, just group by the {demogrph.dm_dob} date, and you'll see that one of the options is to The Section Will Be Printed For Each Month.