Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Biometric Clock-in with Aloha

Status
Not open for further replies.

BinaryWasp

IS-IT--Management
Jul 6, 2006
US
Hello everyone,

I thought I'd introduce myself before I explained my problem. I'm the new IT manager for a first run movie theater/resturant. It's a really great concept with a lot of potential for growth.

Before I started working here, I worked in the helpdesk field, and then before that...commercial website design. Thus, POS and all these things Aloha related are totally foreign to me.

Anyways, the owner of the company mentioned that he saw at some convention that thumb-print readers are available to use within aloha to allow employees to sign in. I have a box of about 10-20 sitting here and I was told that the company did a test run with them, but it crashed their systems. Now they want to try to implement this project again under my control. I'd prefer employees to only use the scanners to clock-in and out and not sign in with them.

Have any of you folks implemented something like this, and how did it go? Any suggestions or tips?

We use the U.areU. 4000 (model URR4s-U1) in conjunction with software interface developed by LoneTree Technolgies. Supposedly there is now a cheaper reader that works with the radiants but I don't have any info on that as of now other than it exist. The system is only good for clocking in and out, as most servers can swipe a card or key in their number faster than these things read. They are promoted as security against employees punching each other in and out because you can set it in Aloha to only allow clock in\out with the thumb readers.

Bo

Kentucky phone support-