Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

bgcolor of parent window?

Status
Not open for further replies.

monion03

Programmer
Apr 24, 2007
GR
hello. I'm a new javascript programmer and I need you help! I wrote the following code:

<HTML>
<HEAD>
<TITLE> A2P3 </TITLE>
<SCRIPT LANGUAGE="JavaScript">
<!--
var w=null;
function openWindow(){
var options="resizable=1,toolbar=1,scrollbars=1,menubar=0,status=0,location=0,directories=0, width=300,height=300";
w=window.open("","NewWindow",options);
makepage="<HTML><title> New Window </title>";
makepage +="<BODY><form><center><h1> New Window </h1>";
makepage +="<hr size = '2' width = '100%' color = 'gray' /><br/>";
makepage +="<input type='button' value='Green Color to the parent window' onClick='opener.document.bgcolor='green';' /><br/><br/>";
makepage +="<hr size = '2' width = '100%' color = 'gray' /><br/>";
makepage +="<input type='button' value='Close' onClick='window.close();' /><br/>";
makepage +="</form></center></body></html>";
w.document.write(makepage);

}

function changeColor(){
if(w==null){
window.alert("child window is not opened! Do you want to open it?");
openWindow();
}
w.document.bgColor="red";
}

function writeText(){
text=window.document.form1.NewText.value;
w.document.writeln(text);
}

function changeParent() {
opener.document.bgcolor = "green";
window.focus();
}

//-->
</SCRIPT>

</HEAD>

<BODY>
<form name="form1">
<input type="button" value="Open new window" onClick="openWindow();" /><br/><br/>
<input type="button" value="Red background color to the new window" onClick="changeColor();" /><br/><br/>
<input type="button" value="Text to the new window" onClick="writeText();" />
<input type="text" name = "NewText" size = "30" />