Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

best practices for Clariion?

Status
Not open for further replies.

usao

Technical User
Mar 27, 2010
US
Ive been working with CX for several years, and have always done things as I was shown. Lately, questions have come up which suggest that there are perhaps alternatives which im not aware of. I thouht I would try asking in the forums to see if anyone has pointers for my specific questions below, or can point me to best practices guides which may answer some of the questions.

Q1) It's been suggested that the best way to carve-up luns is to create a set of fixed-size luns on all the raid groups, then create a meta-lun which spans multiple raid groups untill the "desired" allocation size is met. Previously, I have been simply carving a lun of the desired size from a single raid group and presentig that to the host. Any thoughts?
Q2) Does it matter when declaring hot spares which bus they are on? Our existing methods were to spread the HS disks across the bus and on multipe DAEs, but someone else I was talking with suggested putting all the HS luns up-front right next to the vault drives. So, does it matter at all?
Q3) I have typically just declared a hot-spare RaidGroup, but not put any luns on it. Recently, ive noticed a system which said HS was not configured untill I put an actual lun on ths HS disk. I thought since the enttire disk was replacing a matching disk elsewhere that the "lun" on the HS disk was irrelevant, but an config error on a newer system is making me revisit that theory.

Again, if you can offer feedback on these questions, and/or point me to best practice guides for layout out CX arrays, it would be appreciated.