Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Best Choice for Remote Users 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

heresahandle

Technical User
May 6, 2003
US
Excuse me if this post has already been made, please excuse me because I couldn't find something descriptive enough because I'm a newbie with remote access.

The setup I'm putting in place:
-One Win2k3 server hosting our application's data.
-Two workstations, one for local use and one for
remote user(s)(This was going to be running pcAnywhere, but we need multiple remote users on the app)
-One user in the office, two remote users.

I have to get at least two users connected to our application server at the same time.

1. pcAnywhere on the extra workstation is no good. only one user at a time. same thing with GoToMyPC.com. I don't want to set up an extra workstation if we'll just have to connect to the server directly. a software solution like this would be ideal. I don't really like the idea of these users getting right into my server.
2. the owner of the business is used to using Citrix, but it's way to expensive for this small of a network.
3. I've never set up Terminal Services before and wouldn't know where to start.

Is terminal services the answer I'm looking for? Do I have to set up a VPN to use TS? Also, would I have to be onsite at the remote users machine to set this up?

I'm sure there will be more points you'll need to know.