Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Beginners help to creating their first perl module!

Status
Not open for further replies.

cgilover

Programmer
Oct 8, 2004
US
I'm trying to create my first perl module and I have zero knowledge of what I'm trying to do.

I want to make it simple but something I'll likely use, so I decided on a meta tag parser. The module will use LWP::Simple and parse a given $url and strip ALL meta content into a hash then export the hash into the script so the admin/script user can do whatever the heck they want with it.

I can do the parts of LWP::Simple and parsing of the page into a hash just fine, I've done this countless times before.

My question is, since they are using my module "MetaParser.pm" , the module needs a way to GET the $url from the script. LWP::Simple does it like my $content = get("$url");

I want to do a similar function and maybe call it my $content = getm("$url");

Can anyone help me figure out how to setup getm(); to work?

Secondly, I am storing all the meta tag content in a hash (meta name => meta content). I need to know how I can export this hash into the script EASILY. I don't want to do main::MetaParser.. or whatever that is. There's got to be an easy way to get my hash into the script.

Thirdly, is there a way to instead of using my $content = getm("$url"); to use my %content = getm("$url"); and have the hash they just created actually be the hash that the script makes with the content? I think this would be a better bet, otherwise the scalar $content would be useless throughout the script. It would be nice if they could do it this way and have %content already set up.

This isn't much so far, but this is what I have:

Module: