Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Beginner is foggy on Viewstate and Postback, needs help.

Status
Not open for further replies.

jsteph

Technical User
Oct 24, 2002
US
I'm relatively new to ASP.Net and I'm trying to get my head around the whole ViewState and PostBack concept. So I'm wondering if anyone can help me understand an abstract, high-level view of it all. I've read several recommended links on viewstate and postback, and I think I have a general understanding of what happens, but somehow I keep asking myself "why?".

To give a frame of reference, I'm used to classic asp with ajax. So for example, if I had a data grid to update, it was an html table generated in an asp page and viewd in an iframe. Then in javascript I'd copy the selected row (including a binary timestamp field) and send it via xmlhttprequest to an asp page that performed the update. If the timestamp was unchanged, but the passed-in field values differed from the db values, then the update is performed for those fields and a simple success message and the new binary timestamp is sent back--not an entire re-rendered page, not the entire grid, not evnen the row--because the db now has the same values that are onscreen. I'm not really thinking security here--the environment is internal and, for all intents and purposes, trusted.

So I'm getting pressure to move things to .Net, not just from powers-that-be, but honestly I'm starting to feel like classic asp is being treated like someone using DOS 5.0.