Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Beginner HTML question - need help lining up text

Status
Not open for further replies.

FreakyLee

Programmer
Dec 9, 2001
US
OK, I am a beginner at HTML, so sorry if this is a stupid question. Part of the web page I'm working on has a section of text something like this:
Code:
SECTION 1                SECTION 2
Software Applications:   example1, example2, example3
Development Tools:       example1, example2, example3
Databases:               example1, example2, example3
Operating Systems:       example1, example2, example3
How do I get the text in Section 2 to align? I'm not having a problem with the text in Section 1, but the text in Section 2 is all skewed because HTML obviously ignores the whitespace between Section 1 and Section 2. Is a table the answer? If it is, can I make the Section 2 column dynamic in size? There will be n number of examples for each item, so I can't limit myself to a fixed size column.

Thx in advance.

Hi FreakyLee,

You don't have to apologize here. We all started like you and there are no stupid questions!!

I think a table is the best way.
If you only set the with of the table and cells you can get a nice result. If there are a lot of examples the heigth will be set automatically. Use the valign in the first cell to get the text on top.

<table border=1 width=&quot;500&quot;>
<tr>
<td width=&quot;200&quot;>
SECTION 1
</td>
<td width=&quot;300&quot;>
SECTION 2
</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td valign=&quot;top&quot;>
Software Applications:
</td>
<td>
example1, example2, example3, example4, example5, example6, example7, example8, example9
</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td valign=&quot;top&quot;>
Development Tools:
</td>
<td>