Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

BCM50 imaging/licensing for an individual

Status
Not open for further replies.

themaritimegirl

Technical User
Jun 8, 2016
CA
Hi,

I have little knowledge and experience with telephone systems, and I've been entertaining the thought of purchasing a BCM50 and a couple of Norstar phones on eBay, just to tinker and educate myself with.

Although used BCM50 units are cheap on eBay, I'm reserved against buying one because I understand that the hard drives commonly fail (and obviously the ones on eBay usually aren't tested), and once that happens you have re-image a new drive, and then set up the license keys to make the thing functional again.

The cost of buying a second BCM50 would be prohibitive for me (and then that could have a bad drive too). The cost of buying a multi-image drive is also prohibitive. And I can't download the BCM50 hard disk image from Avaya because I'm not a company. Even if I somehow got a hold of an image, then I still have to go through a distributor, or whoever, to set up the license keys, and god knows what that costs. Or if I'm less lucky, the keys have been transferred to a new machine, and I would have to purchase new ones, the cost of which I assume would be prohibitive. If it's even still possible to purchase new keys at all.

I've also read that even just a Level 1 reset wipes out any license keys, which is bad because I'd want to do that to reset any custom admin login information and previous phone programming.

I was hoping, now that the BCM series is EOL, that hard disk images and keys would become openly available on the Internet, but it seems that's not the case.