Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Basic SBS 2003 configuration

Status
Not open for further replies.

Zotigo

Technical User
Apr 30, 2005
DK
Hi guys, I am new to IT and have to setup an experimetal site with SBS 2003. I have my domain registered with EuroDNS and can use their DNS servers to forward all traffic to my server. I also have a Static IP with a high bandwidth.
Please tell me what I need to configure on my server so that all the Mail sent to my Domain as well as the HTTP traffic, hits my server. I have configured EuroDNS servers (through the web interface they provide) to forward all such traffic to my IP.
Should it just be that I configure my server to use EuroDNS' DNS server instead of my ISP's? Please help me in this, thanks!

First up, go to and check to see if everything is functional, its pretty descriptive...

Do you have an MX record tied to your static IP for your email? IE: mail.mycompany.com

You should be able to telnet into your mail server:
telnet mail.mycompany.com 25 or if you're yet to obtain an MX record, then telnet yourstaticip 25.

Good places to start.

~ K.I.S.S - Don't make it any more complex than it has to be ~

You need to set the EuroDNS servers in the FORWARDERS tab of DNS on your server. You need to have Internal DNS for your network to function.

Since you have SBS, run the Internet Connection Wizard, it will prompt you for all the appropriate choices and set it up for you.

I hope you find this post helpful.

Regards,

Mark

Dear Mark and Karmic, thanks alot for your kind advices. I am working on it and will get back to you if for some reason I couldn't set it up. Though I think you have made it clear enough, take care.

Regards