Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Barcodes In Visual Basic

Status
Not open for further replies.

jbl1167

Programmer
Oct 2, 2006
US
I am a programmer and not an expert on bar coding. I do have to write an application that reads barcodes of products and keep inventories. The problem is that the barcodes are from different symbologies. I would like to be able to scan the barcode and allow the system to recognize the barcode symboloy inmediately and just read the numeric values of the barcode. Do you have an idea how could I do this? Do you know where I can get a list of the different barcodes techologies and examples of their format?

Thank you

Back when I work for a retail company we would just load the scanning program onto our machines plug a scanner to our serial port then used the instruction manual that had the bar codes in it to program the scanner with our desired bar code then from then on VB did the necessary programming.

The handheld barcode readers that I have used, were placed in series with the keyboard. I believe they are referred to as wedges. When scanning a barcode, the device determined what type code was being read and sent the results as keystrokes to the active program.

As others have said, bar code scanners may be wedge-attached or port-attached. If wedge attached then the input from the scanner appears as though it was typed from the keyboard. If port-attached then you will need to use an MSComm control to read from the COM port.