Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Bandwidth Calculation !!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Striker99

Programmer
Oct 31, 2001
UA
All,

I am relatively new to comm's and need all the help i can get to solve my problem.

My question is, how do i calculate the bandwitdh for my application. My client application is connecting to Server thro a remote access. I understand that this depends on the size of the message transfered. Once i know the size of the message, how do i proceed in calculating the Bandwidth.

All kinds of help in this would be greatly appricated.

Rgds,
striker99

Assuming u have a Windows box:

Sounds like your display / resolution settings are off.

To remedy this, go to start->settings->control panel->display->settings->screen area, and try adjusting the resolution. Sounds like it may be set to low.

Try 800 x 600 or 1024 x 768.

oops: Wrong Forum

but to address ur issue. Bandwidth is determined by connection type (ie. Dialup, BroadBand, Satellite, etc), not application.

Maybe I'm missing ur point...

The rough-and-ready way to do this is to first look at your application as a series of user transactions:

User does (T1), gets back (R1).
User does (T2), gets back (R2).
etc.

You can lump together and average similar ones.

Then you look at how many bytes T1 sends, how many bytes R1 replies; how many T2 sends, etc.

Total the bytes for each (T1+R1), etc.

Then you set response-time criteria for each transaction:

(1) must complete in S1 seconds.
(2) must complete in S2 seconds.
etc.

This part is a service-level issue. You want it fast, it is going to cost.

Then you calc. it for each transaction (8 bits/byte to change to bits/sec):

B1 = (T1+R1)*8/S1