Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Backing Up the site

Status
Not open for further replies.

Fujiko

Programmer
Dec 23, 2001
PH
hi! im just a newbie with frontpage, im wondering, is there a way to back up all the site without using an FTP client, like by just going through frontpage and click on file ->open web, to show me my current website as well as the structure. Is there a way to get them all saved on my hard drive without going through each link and use "save as" thing? thanks in advance :)

Hi Fujiko,

If I understand you correctly, you are trying to backup a published site to your hard drive?

To use the following method, the Frontpage Server Extensions must be installed on the server.

First, I would create a folder e.g. nameofweb2 or something along those lines. Not sure where yours are, but mine are located in MyDocuments\MyWebs

Now Open Frontpage

Go to File >> Open

Now type your web address in the textbox normally reserved for the page name.

In many cases, it would be In some, you will need to use the well.

Once the live web is open, open any page. Now go to File >> Publish Web. Instead of using the internet address, use Browse to locate the folder you just created. Unless the server times out because of the web size, this should be the end of it. If the server times out, attempt publishing again.

You could also copy the files from your current folder to another folder on your drive, if you simply want a copy of the web folder itself.

This could be copied as well to CD for later copying and pasting to your hard drive.

Hope I have been of some help,
Micheal

FrontPage Form Tutorials & Form Script Examples