Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

B.E 8.6 Remote Agent Confusion 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

Phylis

Technical User
Oct 10, 2003
GB
Hi

I am relatively new to Backup exec and although i must have read nearly every post on this site regarding remote agents i am still no nearer finding an answer - i hope somebody can help.

Our IT guy at work has just left which means I have recently inherited 2 Dell Poweredge servers:

Server 1 contains a custom made database & 60 users documents etc - this server is the media server.

Server 2 contains ms Exchange 5.5 (60 mailboxes).

In all the software that was left, I have Backup exec 8.6 and the Exchange agent - no sign of the remote agent.

Installed on Server 1 is Backup Exec 8.6 & Exchange agent (both serial numbers show in "about").

When i looked in services on Server 2, Backup exec remote agent is there and it has started - Veritas also shows in Program Files (veritas - backup exec - Rant).

Question:

By having the remote agent running on the remote machine (server 2), does this mean that we own a remote agent? if so can i retrieve the serial to enter into Server 1? or do i have to purchase a new remote agent?

If I do have to purchase a new remote agent do you know where i can buy one from (uk)? & how much will it cost?

Thanks in advance.