Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Awk questions 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

stu78

Programmer
May 29, 2002
GB
Hi,

I am new to awk, and am attempting some practice scripts; I wish to use the getline function, however no matter how simple the example is, I cannot get it to run. Instead I get something like;

awk: syntax error near line 2
awk: illegal statement near line 2

This is the script I am running; does anybody have any suggestions?

awk '{
getline < &quot;secondary.input&quot;
print
}'

What awk you are using is going to be important here I'm afraid.

Try this:
awk ' BEGIN {
if (getline val < &quot;secondary.input&quot;) {
print val
}
}'

hi,

I got the same error message when I ran this one... that is

awk: syntax error near line 2
awk: illegal statement near line 2

how do I get what version I am running - once again I am new to awk...

Hi stu78,

It looks like version doesn't recognize getline. Let's try to prove or disprove this hypothesis beyond all shadow of a doubt. We can do this by eliminating all extraneous elements. Please try running the following on the command line:

echo &quot;x&quot; > nonfile.txt ; awk '{getline}' nonfile.txt

BTW, the reference to 'nonfile.txt' is just to provide a bogus file. I am trusting that no file of that name would already exist on your box.

If your awk recognizes the 'getline' command, it should just come back to the command line with no output. If your version doesn't recognize getline you should get an error message similar to the one you got before. Probably something like:

UX:awk: ERROR: Illegal statement
UX:awk: INFO: Input record number 1, file nofile.txt
UX:awk: INFO: Source line number 1