Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Avaya IP500 System Server Control Unit IP Address Change

Status
Not open for further replies.

sghouston5

Technical User
Aug 9, 2013
US
Hello all,

As you can likely tell from the Subject of this thread, I am a novice who has recently taken on the task of managing the Avaya phone system at our company. I sort of had to jump in feet first since we are migrating the phone manager software to the new vmware datacenter. The current system that the phone is running on is about 7-8 years old on a Windows XP box, which is not even being backed up, so if the hard drive was to crash, there goes the entire voicemail system and config files for the IP phones and what not! Luckily I stepped in, and have successfully migrated the following to a Server 2012 instance:

Avaya R5 IPO500 (The software version is 5, the firmware version is 7.0) we are upgrading to 8.1 soon. (Server Address : 192.168.54.51)
Voicemail Pro 4.0 (installed and copied the entire directory of VM, Campaign, and backups to the new server to preserve the settings and users voicemails)
(Server Address 192.168.54.41)

The voicemails/greetings are being played off the new server on the new subnet (Server Address 192.168.54.41)but the actual call server is on the old subnet with a server address of 149.64.1.16 (DO NOT ASK about that subnet, the IT guys here before me had NO CLUE what the hell they were doing lol).