Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Automating Entries Based on Dates

Status
Not open for further replies.

curlydog

Technical User
Aug 18, 2004
GB
I'm developing a database that stores data concerning overtime in a department. I have some (limited) knowledge of programming but I'm new to VBA.

On the 26th of each month, a fixed amount of overtime hours are added to the department's overtime budget. I'm trying to automate the process of adding these hours into my database.

I plan on using the onOPen event of a form that automatically opens when the database opens to trigger the check. The problem I have is figuring out how to programatically check if the hours have been added on the 26th of each month up to the present day.

The main difficulty is taking into account previous months and years if the current day of the month is less than 26, especially if the database hasn't been opened for a few weeks.

I'm wondering if anyone else has found a solution to this problem in the past. I'm not looking for code to solve my problem (although I'll take it if you are offering), but simply the processes that I need to go through to cover all eventualities.

Thanks in advance
Jason

You have two options.