Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Automating configuration backups on ERS5520 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

pjevnisek

IS-IT--Management
Sep 8, 2005
CA
We've got a number of 5520 switches in our environment on which I would like to automate the backups of the configuration files on a weekly basis. It doesn't appear that I can do that within the switch so how would you suggest I go about doing this? I would think I can accomplish this using scripts but I've never written a script before. Any guidance would be appreciated.

Peter

How many is "a number"? If you have a lot of network devices - switches, routers, etc., you may want to look at some sort of network automation tools. We use HP Network Automation software (formerly Opsware NAS) to automate backups of 110+ devices.

You could also use Expect scripting language to develop a script to telnet to your switches and TFTP the config from them.

You can download languages such as Expect and Perl from ActiveState.com Also, if you have a Linux box, most scripting languages are based on *nix systems, so it doesn't cost you more than picking up an O'Reilly book to try out a scripting language.