Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Automatic Increment numbers

Status
Not open for further replies.

Asbestos2

Technical User
Mar 18, 2011
GB
Hi

I am fairly new to MySql. I have created a table and after a few entries I made the ID into AI. This works OK but a couple of questions;

1. Because I started without AI then did it started the increment at 5. is there away to start it at a number you want it to like 1.

2. Is there a way, for example, when we add anew quote in the quote table we can put a Q in front of the number and start at 100 for example, so the first quote would be Q100.

3. After all testing is there a way to set all the numbers back to start at 1 or 100 in the relevant table.

Thanks

1. what's AI? auto_increment? you can start it at any number you want, see CREATE TABLE syntax in the manual, and look at the table options at the end of the statement

2. concat the Q in a view

3. yes, using TRUNCATE

r937.com | rudy.ca
Buy my new book Simply SQL from Amazon

Hi

Thanks for the reply

1. Yes I mean the auto increment. As I mentioned I am new to MySql so I have bene using the Workbench 5.2 to create and make my tables. I am not up with the programming side as yet. But i understand about truncate and also a tip I saw on the Internet, if you wanted to start at 100 you put in a false record for 99 for instance then the next number would be 100.

2. I dont understand what you mean by concat a view. Could you give me an example how to do it. The idea is to have Quotes beginning with a Q, then sales order with S and Invoice with I. I would appreciate some help on the concat view.

Thanks

Hi