Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Automate Chrome Extension through VFP9

Status
Not open for further replies.

ashnam10

Programmer
Jul 18, 2007
IN
Hello All,

I have a chrome extension which automates login and certain functionalities in a website.

Would like to call this extension through VFP 9 ie. user presses command button and chrome extension is run.

I am new to chrome extension calling and any pointers would be very helpful.

I call other VB.NET exe using shellexecute is it possible to do same with extension?

Please guide.

Thanks in advance.

Almost by definition, it is not possible to answer this question. There is no standard API or command-line parameter for an extension to be automated. It might be possible for someone to write an extension that is capable of being automated, but there is nothing to say that the author of this particular extension has done that. In short, you would need the cooperation of the author of the extension to make this possible.

You would do better to forget about automating the extension, and instead to focus on your overall goal. You say the extension automates login and performs certain other functions in a site. I suggest you look for other ways of automating those functions. For example, it might be possible to do it through scripting, using SendKeys() to programmatically enter the required keystrokes.

Also, are you obliged to use Chrome? In fact, do you need any sort of user interface for the functionality you want to perform? If not, it might be possible to do it through the Microsoft Web Browser ActiveX control, which is certainly possible to automate.