Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Autoincrement field reset unintentionally

Status
Not open for further replies.

ChrisBattersby

Technical User
Apr 5, 2006
GB
I have setup a table with an autoincrement field solely to supply an application with consecutive numbers for new accounts. The application calls a GetNewAccountNo function, which basically deletes all records from the table then inserts a new record thus supplying the latest incremented number.
This has been working flawlessly for 6 months, but suddenly the autoincrement reset to 0 and started again from there. Is there anything wrong with my approach? I am new to MySQL, and work for a small company where nobody else has access to the database, or the nous to deliberately sabotage the data.
The platform I am working on is MySQL version 5.0.45-community-nt, InnoDB tables, XP pro, Delphi 5, CoreLab MyDac data access components.

I would recommend not emptying the file. Leave the data there and reference the new ID immediately after the insert with SELECT LAST_INSERT_ID(). Also, what is the size of that field? I've never seen one reset itself to 0 before unless you explicitly tell it to in the insert.

Mark

After further research I found some interesting info at

which discusses Truncate and Delete of tables/records with autoincrement fields, and points out some documentation conflicts for various versions of MySQL. It still doesn't resolve the problem of why my application worked for 6 months or so then went awol.