Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

AUTO ROUTING COMPLETED EMAILS/MIGRATING LOTUS NOTES WITH ACCESS 2K

Status
Not open for further replies.

sleonard1432

Programmer
Jan 24, 2005
US
I am new to the Lotus Notes world, which will explain some of the stupid questions I may ask.

1. My company uses a certain Notes database in which emails are received. These emails are time sensitive and most of my clients would like a TAT (turn around time) of 2 to 4 hours. What I would like to do, for tracking purposes, is to have emails be sent to a folder, which we will name (WITHIN 4 HOUR TIMEFRAME) when one of my email processors responds back to the senders before the 4 hours has been exhausted and any emails that are responded to outside the 4 hour timeframe will be sent to a folder named (OUTSIDE 4 HOUR TIMEFRAME). I was hoping there would be a way to evaluate, based on the time the email was received and the time in which the email was responded to.

2. I would also like to automatically save the email data in an Access DB, where I could manipulate and report these emails off of. Is there a way I can migrate emails received with table in Access?

Any help would be great. Thank you in advance for your assistance.

1) This is possible. It involves some coding in LotusScript though, so if we cannot work it out here, I'd advise you to get some help from a Notes developer on-site.
When you respond to a mail, you create a new document. What could be done for that mailbox is a bit of personnalization. All we need is to put in a few simple elements.

First, you need to modify the Reply form to include a field that will automatically grab the Unique ID from the original mail.