Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Audit: perf and space impact? 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

PaulinaK

IS-IT--Management
Jan 8, 2004
DE
Question: is it a good/bad idea to turn statement auditing on for all INSERTs, UPDATES, DELETEs on all tables? Purpose: we need to be able to go back and see who changed what data in the db.

How much of an impact would it have on performance (overhead)? How much of a space issue would it be?

Sorry if this question does not make any sense at all. I am new to Oracle...

Thanks in advance for any thoughts

Paulina,

The Oracle AUDIT capability is, frankly, not the best method for implementing what we generally accept as an audit trail; it tends to chew up more-than-necessary space and CPU cycles, while not giving enough audit information.

The best method, IMHO, is to use "database triggers" for auditing purposes. I use audit triggers to show WHEN did WHO make WHAT changes (including OLD and NEW values and whether the change resulted from and INSERT, UPDATE, or DELETE).

Where you are new to Oracle, you might need some syntactical help with such trigger(s), but I'll start with answering your immediate question: Oracle AUDIT is not the best audit.

[santa]Mufasa
(aka Dave of Sandy, Utah, USA @ 22:35 (14Jan04) GMT, 15:35 (14Jan04) Mountain Time)

Thanks Mufasa. This is what I suspected based on common sense.

Quick follow up question regarding the UPDATE transactions and their audit(while on this topic): does Oracle Audit feature let me clearly store/see old and new values, or do I have to dig through the DML statement to see the new value? And where can I find the old value then?

Thanks again for your help.

PaulinaK -