Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

At A Loss 13

Status
Not open for further replies.

tekbytes

IS-IT--Management
Aug 8, 2013
US
I really tried to avoid this i really did, but here is the situation

being a tech i come across all sorts of strange issues but this one has me stumped and its on my personal machine which makes me even more mad

windows 7 pro SP1
4 gb ram
2.0 duo core AMD Turion X2
320gb sata primary, 600gb sata secondary
machine is an HP DV7 laptop

i first wanted to go with overheating, the system is just real slow, it freezes and the whole screen locks up completely, if i rake my hands over the keyboard it will "beep" once and then the thing will come back to life, i have tested the memory (all slots) over a 5 hour period using dimsoft as well as memtest86, all dimms came back after 5 full passes and they all showed healthy, no errors writing or reading memory,

moving onto the hard drive i decided to try an extreme and i pulled the drive and replaced the drive with a new drive with a fresh copy of windows 7, no difference, so i cloned the hard drive completely then reformatted and reloaded the original drive, no change, as a last effort i backed up and reformatted the original drive and reloaded 7, it worked OK for a couple days but then the problems come creeping back, im usually at around 95% cpu load and memory usually has like 9 mb free, so this machine is choking itself, on a lark i checked both hard drives but since i put a brand new primary drive in i know it cant be the drive,

so not hard drive and not memory, not operating system since i wiped it out