Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Asynchronous Sockets - Close and re-init?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Moebius01

Programmer
Oct 27, 2000
US
Let me preface this by saying I'm a novice coder at best. I've been tossed into doing this due to circumstances beyond control, so please forgive any ignorance.

I'm working on a listener service to work with the Avaya phone system as my company is switching to it. After poking around, I ended up basing most of my code on MS's example for asynchronous sockets. So far so good. Now, I'd like to add some manner of code when a timeout occurs (no data from Avaya for 5 minutes) to close any open connections and sockets and re-initialize to start listening again. The problem is, I'm unsure how to deal with the sockets in a multithreaded situation. Specifically how to determine if there are any open ports or connections, or any socket receiving data. The code thus far looks like this:

Code:
Public Shared allDone As New ManualResetEvent(False)
Public Shared listener As New Socket(AddressFamily.InterNetwork, SocketType.Stream, ProtocolType.Tcp)

Public Shared Sub StartListening()

' Data buffer for incoming data.
        Dim bytes() As Byte = New [Byte](1024) {}
        ' Establish Listener Endpoint Info
        Dim ipHostInfo As IPHostEntry = Dns.Resolve(Dns.GetHostName())
        localip = ipHostInfo.AddressList(0)
        Dim localEndPoint As New IPEndPoint(localip, localport)
        ' Bind the socket to the local endpoint and listen for incoming connections.
        Try
            listener.Bind(localEndPoint)
            listener.Listen(100)

While True
                ' Set the event to nonsignaled state.