Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

assigning work to others - any tips?

Status
Not open for further replies.

LittleMissMaya

Programmer
Nov 23, 2011
CA
I'm new in this role of Business Analyst/Project Manager. Also, it's a new position in the company. Any tips on managing people to a. acknowledge your request and b. meet their deadline? A couple of times I've assigned a couple of tasks to this one individual and he wasn't able to make a meeting. I asked him for his review ahead of time so we could incorporate his feedback at the meeting. Nothing. Then recently a few days ago, I sent him an email assigning another task with a deadline. He didn't even acknowledge the email. I've also assigned another task to an individual not on the project team. Again, nothing acknowledged.

It kind of pees me off but I suppose it's par for the course.

any tips or suggestions? I'm new in a new role so as much as it is my personality to get after people and drive it through to get the job done, I need to also be sensitive here and not be the bull in the china shop.

When possible, the person(s) who will be doing the work should be involved in the estimation and planning of the work. When you meet with a project team member to get an estimate, ask them when they can have it completed. Or ask them if it can be completed by (your deadline). If they say no, then you can move onward: discuss priorities with their boss, assign to another person, adjust the schedule, etc.