Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Assigning datetime dimension ID's during ETL

Status
Not open for further replies.

jakewoods

Programmer
Sep 16, 2009
US
Hello all,

I am an experienced DBA but am kind of new to data warehouse thinking, so please excuse me if this question is really basic.

I have an OLTP time tracking system I am converting to a DW schema. The system measures time in 15 minute increments, so that is the increment I have used for my date/time dimension table (each row represents a particular quarter hour).

My problem is that not all of the incoming data is that precise (for example, employee hire date has no time component) and I would like to use the same date/time dimension table across the board.

I am past the point where I can separate dates from times into 2 separate dimensions. What I thought of was just assigning a default time (midnight seemed reasonable) to all the "date only" information I am transforming. Is there some obvious reason this won't work? Is there a different standard way for solving this problem?

Thanks,

- Jake

I think you might be missing the point. Your 'facts' or 'measures' are the time tracking times. The other dates are part of the date dimension. If you have noted that your facts are actually "events", and are not satisfied with a "Factless Fact Table", they you could make two dimensions, one for date and one for time.

It's important to determine what you are measuring (facts or 'events') and across which aspects you are measuring (dimensions). Hope this helps.

-------------------------
The trouble with doing something right the first time is that nobody appreciates how difficult it was - Steven Wright