Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Assigning current time to a text box

Status
Not open for further replies.

mans

Programmer
Mar 18, 2000
AU
Hello,

I am using VB6 SP5 on XP. I would like to display the current time in a text box at run time, when I attempt to an error message says: "Compile Error, Expected Variable or Procedure, Not Project" and it highlights the following statement, Text1.text = TIME (design time). I have been using this simple statement in '98 for many years, what is likely to have changed or what do I need to do.

Thank You

Did you check the statement AFTER the one that is highlighted?

Where is this code placed in the load or activate?

The easiest way I know of is to put a Timer on the form, then use this
Private Sub Timer1_Timer()
Text1.Text = Time()
End Sub

oopppsss forgot ..
Set the timer Interval property to 100

Does it have to be a TextBox? If you just want time displayed you might consider using a Statusbar control with the visible panel style set to sbrTime (5)

'People who live in windowed environments shouldn't cast pointers.'

Mans,

Assuming that all you want do is display the time of day, I don't undertand the tangents about a timer function.

Try either of these:

Text1.Text = Format$(Now(), "hh:mm AM/PM")
or
Text1.Text = Format$(Time(), "hh:mm AM/PM")

The Now() function is the only one I use because the other can be used to set the System Time on the user's PC.