Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Assign variable within a for array 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

waubain

Technical User
Dec 13, 2011
US
I am a pharmacist that maintains a small pharmacy organization web site. I have been using if elseif and else conditional statements to display the next meeting date based on today's date. This is becoming very cumbersome secondary to many date changes. I am trying to use an array to simplify this process.

I am trying to loop through the array and if the condition of today's date is before the next meeting then assign that date to a variable to display on the webpage. Here is what I have, but is not working. In the below example, we do not have any meeting in June, July or December, but could be added at a later date, so trying to keep them as a placeholder.

PHP:
<?php
     //date variable
    date_default_timezone_set("America/Chicago");    
    $date = date("Ymd");        //Date format as YYYYMMDD

//create array
    $meetdate = array();
    $meetdate[0] = "20190110";  //January
    $meetdate[1] = "20190212";  //February
    $meetdate[2] = "20190320";  //March
    $meetdate[3] = "20180410";  //April
    $meetdate[4] = "20180525";  //May
    $meetdate[5] = "";          //June
    $meetdate[6] = "";          //July
    $meetdate[7] = "20180830";  //August
    $meetdate[8] = "20180922";  //September
    $meetdate[9] = "20181019";  //October
    $meetdate[10] = "20181103"; //November
    $meetdate[11] = ""; //December

sort($meetdate);

//find next meeting date

for ($index = 0; $index < count($meetdate); $index++){

if ($date <= $meetdate[$index] {