Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

assembler programs like masm,tasm etc 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

newbieatassembly

Technical User
Oct 4, 2000
IN
Hi,
I just started learning assembly. Programs like MASM, TASM are off my reach because of the cost. Are there any substitute for these programs. I have heard of NASM, but I also heard that a little twealing is required to make asm programs work. To a newbie thats a hard job at present.

Thank you. [sig][/sig]

Hi,
NASM is good assembler for its free, intel-style syntax and multi-OS support.

AS(included in most linux distribution) is an another choice but its AT&T syntax will be a nightmare for a beginner^_^

Hope this helps!

[sig][/sig]

Hi,
I think I understand what you mean. So I should just use NASM and code accordingly using Linux as the base system. No problem in that area. I have Slackware Linux 7.0 up and running for a long time now. NASM is installed.

My only problem is most books teach with TASM or MASM as the base. Could you suggest some good books for unix assembly programming. A how-to will be useless I do not know much about how to program in assembly. I have just started. [sig][/sig]

I believe Microsoft is giving away MASM now.

I have a manual for MS MASM 6.0
If you would like it, let me know your addrsss and I will mail it to you.

Just a question, zBuilder. If Microsoft decided to turn MASM into freeware, why can't you download it directly from Microsoft.com?

Everybody be careful here.

"Technological progress is like an ax in the hands of a pathological criminal"
Albert Einstein

MASM is out of question. Its outdated now I think.