Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

ASP Newbie - SQL Query

Status
Not open for further replies.

bryandj23

IS-IT--Management
Aug 18, 2003
US
Hi All.

I'm an ASP newb. I'm using Frontpage 2002 at the moment to connect to a SQL 2000 database. I'm able to execute the following command in SQL:

Select *
From calldata
Where (Extension= '129' AND Date >= DateAdd(Day, DateDiff(Day, 0, '6/18/2007'), -0)
and Date < DateAdd(Day,DateDiff(Day,0,'6/18/2007'),1))

The "Date" field is a DateTime datatype.
This command in SQL runs fine.

However, when I bring this over to FrontPage, and put in form field values, it's pukes:

Database Results Error
Unable to find operator in query string. Query string currently is SELECT * From merlin Where (Extension= ? AND Date >= DateAdd(Day, DateDiff(Day, 0, '::CallDate::'), -0) and Date < DateAdd(Day,DateDiff(Day,0,'::CallDate::'),1))

Notice it looks as if it's trying to pass the extension field (because it shows a ?), but it doesn't want to pass along the CallDate field.

I'm running out of places to bang my head around here. Can someone shed a little bit of light this way?

Thanks very much in advance.

Update: I typed the table names wrong in my post. The table names are correct in my queries.

Are you setting a connection string so that your file can communicate with SQL??

Please post all ASP code you have to run that query.

[monkey][snake] <.

Here's what FP has generated for me:
Code:
<html>

<head>
<meta name="GENERATOR" content="Microsoft FrontPage 5.0">
<meta name="ProgId" content="FrontPage.Editor.Document">
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=windows-1252">
<title>Extension</title>
</head>

<body>