Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

ASP generated link, perform sub with arguments

Status
Not open for further replies.

markronz

IS-IT--Management
Mar 20, 2007
US
I am very new to HTML, ASP, and Javascript, so please be patient with me. I am wondering the best way to do something. Let me see if I can adequately explain.

I have a existing web page that using ASP is generating a table for me. It's querying a database and printing out the information in table format. The data is actually showing logs of emails that were sent. This table mostly just displays information which need no further explanation, such as date, subject, etc... There is one column which does need further explanation however. It's the recipient list column. We make use of "groups". So what is CURRENTLY being displayed in the table is something generic like "MarketingGroup". The information as to who is actually in the "MarktetingGroup" is contained in a totally different database. I'd like the user to be able to click on the words MarketingGroup contained in the table, either as a link or a button, whatever you think is easiest, and have it, at that time, go out and query this other database and show the user the contents. I don't want it to look up every group ahead of time as this data table might have hundreds of rows in it and I don't necessarily NEED explanation of the contents of each group. So I would only want it to query the other database and find the group contents when the user clicks on it.