Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

ASP 2 Javascript Conversion Utility

Status
Not open for further replies.

BillBruce

IS-IT--Management
Feb 4, 2002
US
Does anyone know of a utility to convert ASP to Javascript. I'm not a programmer, but I'm hoping this tool exits to help our development team.

I am confused why someone would want to try a conversion of ASP to JavaScript. Are you going to use JScript as your server-side language? Please give more details.

The reason for my confusion is that ASP and JavaScript are completely different languages with completely different reasons for existing. ASP is a server-side language, while JavaScript is primarily a client-side language.

Confused, Einstein47
(Love is like PI - natural, irrational, endless, and very important.)

Einstein . . . thanks for replying. We're looking to make some ASP functional on an AS400, which doesn't run it except with WebSphere (as I understand it). My guys say that converting to Java will allow us to run it on the 400.

I've found a couple of utilities in the last 1/2hr that allow such a conversion. There's a utility within Halcyon's iASP product ( And there's one here:

But, I'm still looking for a quick, inexpensive product that'll meet our needs.

Thanks,
BillBruce

BillBruce,

Sun Chili!Soft makes a product that lets non-MicroSoft servers (Apache, iPlanet, etc.) run ASP pages. Does Chili!Soft have a version for AS400? That is the question. Here's their URL:
I know that on one of my AIX 4.3.3 disks was a preview version. If they did a version for AS400, you would be good to go.