Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

AS400 bisync to GEIS

Status
Not open for further replies.

basspro

IS-IT--Management
Jul 12, 2002
US
Need assistance connection an AS400 via bisync to the GEIS network. I already have set up a mailbox with GE and ready to test; however, am experiencing some problems.

Has anyone else already done this?

basspro:

Yes, I've worked with it quite a bit. You can start by giving some details on what kind of problems that you are having.

K. Hood

I am not using a package. I have set up the controller, line, device, and icf descriptions. I have a generic RPG bsc program written by a guy in Oklahoma that supposedly works with Walmart. I have made modifications to that program to comply with GEIS.

When I run the program (CL and RPG) to attemp to connect to GE the system dials the number then seems to never actually connect (receiving time out on AS400).

The records I (think) am sending to GEIS are:
user-number,password,MAILA (with an asterisk in column 80 to denote 3780)
*LTID MAILBOXA
*MODE INPUT,WAIT
PRINT MESSAGE;MAILBOXA;NONE
*EOS

The RPG program:
Open ICFfile
'ICF00 ' ACQ(E) ICFfile
Movea Cmd(1) IcfEdi080 (Cmd(1) is user-number... from above)
IcfEdi080 is ICFfile record (80 characters)
Movea Cmd(2) IcfEdi080 (Cmd(2) is *LTID... from above)
Movea Cmd(3) IcfEdi080 (Cmd(3) is *Mode... from above)
Movea Cmd(4) IcfEdi080 (Cmd(4) is Print... from above)
Movea Cmd(5) IcfEdi080 (Cmd(5) is *EOS.... from above)

I then turn around and read the IcfEdi080 and write any data received to an AS400 file.

I realize this is somewhat jumbled but hard to get RPG code on this format.

Here is our GEIS script for receive:

USERID,PASSWORD,MAILA *(in 80)