Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

As 400 Network connection only shows 10MB half Duplex

Status
Not open for further replies.

MIS
May 3, 2006
US
Hi, I am new to the DB2 server forum, can you tell me if the network speed really matter or not on the As400? The server connected to the 100/100/1000 switch and the status show the server only has 10 mb half duplex; is the network connection really matter or the CPU and disks, memory are the factor of the server?

Thanks,

Some of the older AS/400's only have a 10Mbps card.

On the AS/400

GO HARDWARE
Option 1 (Communication resources)

Look for the LIN that says "LAN adapter". What type is it?

If it is a 2838, it can support 100Mbps.

(There are also now 1Gbps cards, but unsure of their part number).

Anyways, if you put a 5 next to CMNxx under the LAN adapter, then a 5 again, then a 2, go to LINK SPEED & change it to 100M.

If memory serves me, the line needs to be varies off (which means ending TCP, so you need to do this from the system console).

thank a lot for the help, I will look into it and let you know.

on my hardware shows 2849-001 and Part #( 0000053-P0057) and set to 10MB half duplex; can you tell me the reason why it was set to 10MB intead of 100MB or Auto? I am sure when the internal user try to look up the database it is so much slower, but if it sets to 100MB, they can probably get the result quicker(within the LAN), even thought my T1 speed is only 1.5MB/PS (going outside); If I am going to change it, what do I need to aware of? any issues, anything else I need to change? will stop my job anything like that? What are the steps to perform?

Thank YOu,