Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Are dynamic Data Sources possible? 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

kempis555

Programmer
Jan 2, 2001
Hi all,

I'm new to RS, and my project is to get RS running on the web using the URL method.

My problem is that I have more than one SQL server running, all with identical databases (with different data, o'course).

I've made different Data Sources on the Report server which point to the different SQL servers, but it seems like you can't tell a report to pick a Data Source at runtime. Is that true?

Please tell me it's not true. :(

Otherwise, what are the alternatives? I can see only two: each different database needs it's own Report file containing a tailored Data Source, or some SQL Server trick needs to happen based on report parameters.

Bleah on both of them. :p

-k

Not tried this before but I believe it is possible to se the data source itself to be dynamic in terms of the server / database it points at. Not sure if you can do this in formula or whether you need to write a small piece of code to do it but I would start by looking at the data Source itself rather than the report connection to the data source

Rgds, Geoff

We could learn a lot from crayons. Some are sharp, some are pretty and some are dull. Some have weird names and all are different colours but they all live in the same box.

Please read FAQ222-2244 before you ask a question