Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Arc Serve Disappears from taskbar

Status
Not open for further replies.

GaryRumson

Technical User
Jan 23, 2002
US
I have been running arc serve for a few months. Lately I have noticed that after I minimize Arc Serve to the task bar it disapperas after about an hour or two. I have to reclick on the icon and open it back up. Are their any settings that a causing this. This has never happened before and it is a little annoying. Any info??

You know, now that you mention it, I have noticed that the ARCserve manager is a little flaky at times. I'm running ARCserve 7 for Netware.

1. The manager is twitchy, sometimes I have to wait until "something" finishes up while working in the AS Manager before I can move on.

2. When I'm in the Activity Log (in Job Status), I'll be trying to scroll up the log when suddenly the hour glass appears for the cursor and it jumps all the way to the end of the log. Sometimes this happens for 5 to 10 minutes before it "lets go" and I have control.

3. When I format a tape, sometimes the AS Manager program just closes itself when the format task is finished.

So, this is to let you know that you're not alone with AS Manager problems. I have tried using TCP/IP with it and also IPX/SPX. Not much difference with either protocol.

I've generally been focused on the priority of making sure I have real restorable backups. The inconvenient glitchy stuff will be dealt with later, but it's good to get some awareness out there.