Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Applications ?royalty-free ?.EXE ?native code 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

oztb

Programmer
Jun 27, 2000
AU
I am a Clipper programmer emerging from 6 years semi-retirement and evaluating various development tools.  What does VisFoxPro produce in terms of a marketable application?  Does it produce compiled .EXE etc?  Is it interpretive like dBase?  Any help to understand this appreciated. Thanks, oztb

VFP is still an low level interpretive language.<br>Yes it does compile into stand alone exe's.<br>VFP is now owned by MicroSoft and has been included into the Visual Studio Family. It basically intermingles with C++, Java, and VB and has moved into producing HTML code. It also now has drivers for MS SQL Server 7.0 database so any file size limatation is eliminated.&nbsp;&nbsp;You can assess SQL 7.0 database without any code changes.<br><br>Hope is brief statement answers your questions <p>David W. Grewe<br><a href=mailto:Dave@internationalbid.net>Dave@internationalbid.net</a><br><a href= > </a><br>