Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

APC replacement advice 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

sakpgu

Technical User
Aug 9, 2005
US
Hello:
--I'm a newbie that needs some expert advice on whether to replace the batteries on our UPS or upgrade to a new model.
--Our APC Smart-UPS 3000VA RM 3U 120v unexpectedly shutdown our only server twice in three days.
--The first shutdown was on a Friday few hours after an audible low battery alarm; the second happened over the weekend when the business was closed (but Monday morning sure was fun).
--The error logs are clean and the PowerChute software isn't installed.
--As best I can tell, the UPS dates from 1999-2000 and is discontinued, though replacement batteries are available.
--Given its age and the unexpected nature of the shutdowns, is it better to replace the batteries or replace the UPS?
--Thanks in advance for all replies.
Patrick

APC says UPS batteries should last three to five years. Your batteries are long past their prime and proabably not reliable. It's unlikely the UPS itself is bad, APC's units are pretty reliable, though far from perfect.

In my experience, gel cell batteries on critical equipment should be scheduled for replacement every three years. In less sensitive locations with few power failures, you might stretch this to four years. Where the batteries are called upon more more often for short outages or smart boost, it may be mecessary to replace batteries every two years. (And I've done all of the above.)