Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Apache 2.2.8 enabling ssi/shtml 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tarnish

Technical User
Nov 13, 2006
US
Hi all,

I'm kind of new to apache administration. I've recently added 2.2.8 to my notebook for use with web development but I've run into some config (I think) problems.

When I try to test a page with the extension .shtml the page just loads as text. I think I am also not setup to handle includes which I need to fix.

Can anyone direct me? I have access to the httpd.conf file (or any other .conf file I need, I believe), but I'm just not sure which directives I need to use and whatnot.

I tried adding this to my httpd.conf file, but it didn't help any:

Options +Includes
AddType text/html .shtml
AddHandler server-parsed .shtml

That code came from an older version of apache, though, so maybe that's why it didn't work....or maybe I just left off some 'standard' syntax that should have been included with those additions.

Again, any help would be appreciated.

T

Hi elgrandeperro,

I think it's loaded. This line appears in the httpd.conf file:

LoadModule include_module modules/mod_include.so

T

Where did you put the directives (+includes)? You probably want to specify the exact directory.

Also, mine has it as includes_module, not include_module.

Hi again,

I tried taking off the s, but then the server wouldn't even function after that. When I switched it off and back on (wampserver), it now recognizes the .shtml files and appears to be handling those well.

However, the includes still don't show up and I checked the paths of them to make sure they were correct (I had moved the directory into the web server area).