Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Any independent techs out there?

Status
Not open for further replies.

exverizon

Technical User
Oct 11, 2002
US
I've been an independent tech for about 4 years now and trying to get my biz to take off, but sometimes it's crawling. Besides a Yellow Page ad and word-of-mouth, I'm trying to find other routes that might bring work that won't cost me a fortune. I thought I'd approach general contractors whose jobs include phone work, but I suppose the electricians they hire generally do that part of the job as well. Anyone else in this forum a solo tech who can toss me a tip or three? What have you found that's proven beneficial in establishing a decent tech business?

Tech in what?

I know secretaries that are called technicians.

I came across a call-manager (phone operator)

I spoke with a sales manager, who manages the coca cola truck he drives.

Can you be a little more specific?

Steven

Hello,

Great question. There are two kinds of marketing, general and focused. They can be applied to dating, job searches, sales, and getting more business. My consulting business didn't get a lot of return from general marketing (yellow pages, etc.) but it did very well with focused marketing.

I picked which companies I thought I would like to consult for, then I looked at the company like a castle I wanted to storm.

First: Pick the company you want to perform work for.
Second: Figure out someone you know that works there.
Third: Ask the person to tell you who would be a good person at the company to talk to.
Fourth: Talk to that person.