[hide]==> I was under the impression play stops the second the infield fly rule is called, ...
It does not. The ball remains alive and runners may retreat to their previous base or advance to the next base. Once the rule is declared, the batter is out, but play continues. If the infield fly is caught, then the runners must return to their original bases; however, if it is not caught, runners may advance, but importantly, they are not forced to the next base. The sole purpose of the infield fly rule is to prevent an easy double play by watching the runners and playing accordginly. If the runners do not move towards their next base, then the fielders can allow to ball to hit the ground and easily get force outs at 3rd and 2nd base. If the runners do move towards their next base, then they catch the ball and double the runners(s) before they can return. By calling the infield fly rule immediately, the batter is out, meaning all force outs are also off the table, and the runners are on their own.[/hide]
--------------
Good Luck
To get the most from your Tek-Tips experience, please read
FAQ181-2886
Wise men speak because they have something to say, fools because they have to say something. - Plato