Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Alternative to Ghost? 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

search66

IS-IT--Management
Apr 17, 2002
US
I'm a programmer turned IT Manager, and I'm in charge of setting up barebone PC's and equip them with our software, etc...

I'm not too familiar with Ghost, but does anyone suggest any other product that is better? Or, should I just bite the bullet and learn the ropes with it?

I'd basically like to have ONE pc with all of our goodies on it, and then smack the image onto new PC's instead of re-installing everything.

-Shane

PowerQuest also makes some desktop imaging software that is very similar in quality to ghost. But if you already have ghost I would recommend using it. Learning the ropes will not take long as it is very easy to work with.

Thanks for the reply. I figured that was the answer, so I guess I'll stick with it.

Thanks again!

Set the PC up exactly as you want it. Ghost takes 2 minutes to learn.

If you've got Windows 2000 Pro as the OS you can push the image up to the 2000 Server and then each PC you just connect to the network and pull down whichever image you want.

Really cool tool.

I think I'm going to check it out. Currently we run NT4, but I'm in the process of migrating to 2000.

Thanks for the encouragement, I'll give it a wing.

You can do the same with NT4 and it really works well.

The Old Man

There is also an ADD ON for MS RIS server in Win2k from 3COM
that makes it possible to Network boot any bootable image like an DOS BOOTIMAGE instead of only Win2k Pro images.