Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Alter column hyperlink problem

Status
Not open for further replies.

vvilan

Technical User
Jul 29, 2008
US
Hi, I am very new to access and I have to create this application for work. The application imports information from a text document and transfers it into an access database. One such column is a Link such as \\computer\folder1\file.pdf. Setting this column as hyperlink does not hyperlink the file to anything. However a solution is to import it as a txt and then change the field type to hyperlink. And now here is my question:

How do you use SQL or a query to change the data type of a field to hyperlink?

ALTER TABLE [tablename] ALTER COLUMN [columnname] Hyperlink; does not work.

THANKS

Are you sure you wish to do this? Hyperlink columns are a nuisance to maintain for the most part. Presumable you and your users will be using a form to view the data, do FollowHyperlink in a suitable event, DblClick, for example will work very nicely.

Well, I am a fairly new user and this thing that i'm making isn't a big database but just a way to organize and search for the massive amount of data that exists. I would like to hyperlink it but how can this be achieved in VBA or some other way such that it can be done automatically?

Create a form of any description: Continuous, Single

Add some code to the DblClick event for the control with the hyperlink address:

Code:
If Trim(Me.[Name Of Control] & "") <> "" Then
   FollowHyperlink Me.[Name of Control]
Else
   MsgBox "Nothing to do."
End If

If you wish to use the default email programme:

Code:
If Trim(Me.[Name Of Control] & "") <> "" Then
   FollowHyperlink "MailTo:" & Me.[Name of Control]
Else