Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Aloha FOH Wedge MSR Stopped Reading

Status
Not open for further replies.

lrouse

IS-IT--Management
Apr 6, 2012
US
Hi all,
I am an ex Aloha Tech. 5.0 certified. My boss opened a restaurant and had me install his Aloha system to save some money. I did it all myself and it has been running fine for the last year. Suddenly, both the mag card readers stopped working. Swipe a card and it wouldn't read, green indicator lights were not lit. After troubleshooting, I purchased new ones and had them install them. (I don't live in the same state as the restaurant) The green light is on, on the card reader and it still won't read. The BOH is configured to use the mag readers and it is set for keyboard wedge. The Term settings haven't changed. I must be missing something but I am rusty LOL. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. They are running version 6.5.25

Can you swipe a card in notepad and see if they read.?

Cheers,
Coorsman

Hi Coorsman,
I did and they do not read. The green light on the reader turns off as soon as you swipe a card. I had them plug in an old card reader , thinking the new ones weren't compatible or programmed and on the old reader, the green light turns red when you swipe but no read and the light stays red... they also do not read in notepad and were working as of yesterday A.M.

I would try them on the server computer or another pc in notepad. Also did the new ones come with drivers that might need to be installed. Opos?

Cheers,
Coorsman

I'll try them on the server. The new ones are keyboard wedge (PS2)interface, same as the old ones. Would Opos apply to that interface?