Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Aggregate data in different Excel rows

Status
Not open for further replies.

asmithDeveloper

Programmer
Oct 16, 2006
US
Hi All,

I'm completely new to this technology.

Problem: I have 2 Excel files from which to extract financial data. File Trade contains transactions and File Balance contains balances. If a record appears in File Trade, its matching balance record will appear in File Balance, but not vice versa. File Trade could have multiple transactions for a particular financial group.

Like so...

File Trade records:

Cusip Advisor BuyOrSell Amount
1 ABC B 1000.00
1 ABC B 50.00
2 123 S 500.00
2 123 S 20.00

File Balance records:

Cusip Advisor AnotherField MarketValue
1 ABC IL 50000.00
2 123 MI 75000.00
3 XYZ OH 30000.00
4 AAA MI 90000.00
5 TTT IL 80000.00

---
What I need to do, Step 1:
---

Work on the File Trade data so that I end up with just 2 records with aggregations of Amount placed in some new column.

Like so...

New File Trade set of records, call it File Trade 2:

Cusip Advisor BuyOrSell Amount
1 ABC B 1050.00
2 123 S 520.00

---
What I need to do, Step 2:
---

I need to merge the data from File Balance and File Trade 2 using Cusip and Advisor as merge keys. This part I know I can accomplish using Merge Join and a Left Join.

---
What I'm not clear about:
---

How do I accomplish the aggregation in Step 1, creating a new temporary data store to use in the Step 2 merge?

I hope I've explained this problem sufficiently well enough.

Thanks in advance for any help!

Arnold

Hi Arnold,