Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Agent to change allowed reader field value ?? 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

dc2502

Technical User
Jan 31, 2003
GB
Is there a simple agent which could change the value of the allowed reader field in a notes database.

We have a customer management database and have decided to change the name of the groups who have access to certain areas. This means changing the value in the allowed readers field for every single customer. It has to change the values in response documents as well.

Can anyone help ????

OK, I'm a beginner myself, but here's my attempt...

If the allowed reader field for the customer document has the same name as the allowed reader field for the response/activity documents, then all you need to do is create a server-side agent which selects all records, and set the following code in the "initialize" Part of the agent:

SERIOUS DISCLAMIER!! Don't take this code as gospel!! I'm a beginner myself, and I haven't tested it, this is just off the top of my head. Please please please don't release this amateur code into a real system, make a copy! And anybody else who reads this, please correct it if it is wrong!

dim s as new notesSession
dim db as notesDatabase
dim col as notesDocumentCollection
dim doc as notesDocument

set db = s.currentDatabase
set col = db.AllDocuments
set doc = col.GetFirstDocument

For iV = 1 To col.Count
doc.YOUR_READER_FIELD_NAME = "NEW_GROUP_OR_ROLE"
set doc = col.GetNextDocument
Next